Homemade Chemical Free Weed Killer

I saw this 100% Chemical Free Weed Killer recipe posted online and tried it for myself and I can say, yes, it works!!

So I saw this 100% Chemical Free Weed Killer recipe posted online and tried it for myself and I can say, yes, it works!! It is cheaper (and better for you, your family, your pets and the environment) than brands like Roundup, and it uses essential oil for one of its main ingredients.

*** Let me state for the record that I don’t sell or represent any particular essential oil company. In fact, I even question some multi-level marketing (MLM) essential oil companies and their practices. I personally dabble in all brands and I am not married to any one of them in particular. ***

Our back patio is covered in weeds this time a year. Mostly due to our bird feeders that our kept near the back of the house. Our dog and kids are always on the patio so using something full of chemicals is out of the question. And due to all of my sensitivities, I don’t want to come close to anything like chemical weed killer. I have attempted to pull the weeds by hand, or dig them out with a knife, but there are just too many and I kept losing the battle.

Here is the recipe that I used and links to where I found the ingredients. (I am not being endorsed for any of these suggestions, simply passing along what worked for me.)

Recipe:
1 Gallon Distilled White Vinegar
– 6 Tablespoons Pure Castile Soap
– 30 drops Thieves Essential Oil, inexpensively purchased at EdensGarden.com (Eden’s Garden oils an also be purchased on Amazon.com.) Their version of “Thieves” is called: “Fighting Five” http://www.edensgarden.com/products/fighting-five
– 1 Gallon Sprayer – purchased for $5 at Walmart http://www.walmart.com/ip/RL-Flo-Master-1-Gallon-Sprayer/13376324

Now I will say that I have sprayed my patio both when the sun was beating on the weeds and another time when the patio was shady and I will say, that this method worked much better when the sun was beating on the weeds. Also, you don’t want to spray before it rains as the rain will wash the mixture off and you’ll have to start again.

After sharing this recipe with a few people, I had a friend of mine who works at a garden nursery tell me that really ANY essential oil will work for this weed killing concoction as the vinegar is acidy and the oil helps it to stick to the plants.

Give it a try and tell me what you think. – MBH

 

Leave a Reply

