I find Playdates to be Exhausting and Draining!

I truly feel like the life gets sucked out of me! I’ve started to hear a new term, well, new to me recently, that I think may explain why I feel wiped out and actually try to put off gatherings sometimes. The term that I am referring to is called: An Empath.

So I think that I have realized this subconsciously for a while now, but today I am admitting to myself: I find playdates to be exhausting and draining!

Never mind that people think that I keep a clean house and the truth is, I scurry around like crazy before someone is due over. (And usually when someone stops by unexpectedly they may see an unexpected mess or dirty kitchen that they necessarily didn’t think that I would have. When that happens, the joke is on them, I guess.

Anyway, lately I have been finding myself dreading playdates. We live in a small town and a cozy neighborhood so it is common for the Moms to get together and chat while the kids play. It doesn’t even matter if the gathering takes place at our house, someone else’s house, or at the park. Even if I really enjoy the company of the mom, or moms there, and my kids behave decently where I don’t have to constantly be on them, I still feel like I need to crash once it is over and that we can’t have any more activities later that same day, and if I don’t have to go anywhere afterwards, that is great too!! I truly feel like the life gets sucked out of me! Sweat pants and a nap call my name right after!

I’ve started to hear a new term, well, new to me recently, that I think may explain why I feel wiped out and actually try to put off gatherings sometimes. The term that I am referring to is called: An Empath.

The definition of an Empath, according to the Urban Dictionary (which I feel is one of the more straight forward definitions and doesn’t use the word “paranormal” to freak people out) is: “A person who is capable of feeling the emotions of others despite the fact that they themselves are not going through the same situation.”  Basically an Empath absorbs the emotions of others, they can pick up or absorb emotional states, energies and surroundings. Sometimes pain or suffering can be heightened above average, too. This “gift” can result in being always tired and energetically exhausted.

I use the word “gift” because being an Empath IS a gift!  It is hugely beneficial for relating to others and the universe as a whole. I am told that this can feel like a curse until I learn how to cope with all of the stimuli that I encounter. I have been told by others that it is part of my genetic make-up and that supposedly 1 in 20 people are Empaths. As I can attest that a seemingly regular day can be overwhelming for me.  I also find it odd that 1 in 20 people have what I have but just recently I have actually heard the word: Empath!

So to get back to my original topic at hand. Yes, playdates exhaust me. Though at the time I think that I am enjoying the conversation with another Mom or neighbor, or blame my tiredness on my frantic cleaning and picking up the house beforehand, I am coming to terms with the idea that I have a gift that I don’t totally know how to use yet.

Has anyone else had a similar experience??

Leave a Reply

