Do You Hear Things?

I woke up in the middle of the night the other night to the sound of my refrigerator door opening and then closing.

Back in July I had a Reading in which I found out that I have some Spiritual Gifts. During the Reading the Intuitive Medium brought up that I have a lot of energy. She said that I had Monkey Mind and that it is hard for me to get still. (All true!)

She also asked if I had a hard time sleeping. I confirmed that I did and that I also seem to wake up regularly around 2:00 and 3:00 AM. She confirmed that that is a “prime time” for when Spirits come to visit. It is also a time that information comes.

The next thing she asked, which I never really thought of too much until she brought it up was – “Do you hear things??” I thought for a minute and then realized yes, I suppose I hear a bump here, a movement there, but I never thought too hard about it.

Later after I processed this for a bit I realized that there is a lot that I hear. For example, over the years I have woke up to the sound of a dog bark. Not barking, but a quick, short, bark. The way our dog (or dogs in the past) have barked in the middle of the night to go out. This has happened time and time again where I have heard this, woke up and gone to the back door to find no animal needing to go out. I would then go and investigate and find the dog sound asleep somewhere not looking as if he’s moved for hours. Sometimes I would blow it off as I was just having a dream. Other times I would blame it on the dog, maybe he’s having a dream and barked in his sleep.

There have been times that I think I hear someone call “Mom” in the middle of the night. I wake to find none of my children in my room. I go and check all of the kids’ rooms and find everyone tucked in and sound asleep. Again, in the past, I always thought that maybe I was dreaming, or the kids were talking in their sleep. Perhaps not.

Finally, and this is a big one that happened for me recently that made me reflect on the question: “Do I hear things?” I woke up in the middle of the night the other night to the sound of my refrigerator door opening and then closing. I remember instantly opening my eyes once I heard it to find my husband still sound asleep so it wasn’t like he went to the kitchen for a midnight snack or something to drink. I then checked on the children, none of which have ever helped themselves to food or a drink in the middle of the night, and, well, they are fast asleep. I remember just stopping in my tracks for a moment and letting it sink in that yes, I.do.hear.things!

This was real. I heard it plain as day.

I didn’t feel threatened by it, it just really sunk in that I am not alone.

I fell crazy for this, but I’m not (totally!) crazy!

Now here are some things that the Intuitive Medium shared with me that I thought was helpful:

I am hearing things at night because my mind is at rest. (Well, that makes sense. No kids, pets, spouse, phones, technology clamoring after me.) When Spirits pick up on someone being sensitive, they flock to that person. They can all crowd around and talk at the same time because they are exited. When this happens, I should tell Spirit to back off and remind them that they are all crowding and talking to me at once. (They get excited when they think they might be able to get their message across.) She suggested that I be firm. Tell them (Spirit) to “Get in line, and to speak one at a time.” I should delegate.

After hearing this, I was curious if the Spirits around me need my help or if they were around to help me? The Intuitive Medium told me that she saw that some were serving the purpose of guidance, (for example she picked up on a strong female guide who is trying to help me). She said that others are around me because when people walk around “open” such as I am right now, I am actually attracting spirits.

Wow! This just got a little more real! – MBH

 

Leave a Reply

