Monkey Mind – What is Monkey Mind?

I interpret monkey mind as the mental clutter that is stopping me from living in the Present and acts as a distraction that is stopping me from being the productive person that I once was.

In my Reading the other day, Jill brought up that I have “Monkey Mind.” My mind is mush, I know that much. I used to have it together – the house, the kids, me, a career. These days, I’m lucky to know my name and my right hand from my left.

I looked up the term: Monkey Mind. It is a Buddhist term meaning “unsettled; restless; capricious; whimsical; fanciful; inconstant; confused; indecisive; uncontrollable“. Yup, that is about right. That is how I feel on a regular basis these days.  I also feel that my head never shuts off and is in constant motion. For example:

  • My mind is always thinking about what needs to be done – House, Children, Husband, Volunteering, Work….
  • My mind is constantly looping the list of fears that I have, both real and imaginary. (One day we’ll get into that more.
  • My mind is constantly recalling hurtful things that have happened in the past – family drama, parents, siblings, in-laws, out-laws, work-related, friendship related, you name it.
  • I’m always judging the present and feel that I keep re-hashing the past.
  • And this big one, which is really no joke: My mind continuously creating catastrophic “what-if” scenarios of the future. (Another one that I’ll get into another time.)

I interpret monkey mind as the mental clutter that is stopping me from living in the Present and acts as  a distraction that is stopping me from being the productive person that I once was. It is time to get the monkey off of my back – or at least out of my mind!

Has anyone else dealt with this sort of crazy?

What have you done to get rid of it?

 

Leave a Reply

